Categories
Internet Latest news security software Technology Reviews

How to Unsend an Instagram Message


PixieMe/Shutterstock.com

You can unsend a message in Instagram’s mobile app by tapping and holding the message and selecting “Unsend.” On desktop, hover over the message, click the three-dot menu, choose “Unsend,” and select “Unsend” in the prompt.

Did you send a DM to someone by mistake? If so, you can always unsend an Instagram message using the mobile app or your desktop.

RELATED: How to Delete an Instagram Draft

What Happens When You Unsend an Instagram Message?

When you undo send an Instagram message, the platform takes that message off of your chat conversation. Neither you nor the recipient will see the message in the chat history.

The recipient isn’t notified that you’ve deleted a message from the chat. It looks as though you never sent the message in the first place.

When it comes to removing sent messages, there’s no time limit. You can delete any message you want to. However, your recipient may have already seen the message that you’re going to delete.

How to Unsend Instagram Messages on Mobile

To begin removing your sent messages, launch the Instagram app on your phone. Then, in the app’s top-right corner, tap the Message icon. If you haven’t updated Instagram, you may see a paper airplane icon.

On the Message page, select the conversation from which you want to remove a message. Then, find the actual message to delete.

Tap and hold the message and choose “Unsend.”

Warning: Instagram won’t display a prompt, so make sure you’re okay with losing the message permanently when you tap “Unsend.”

Choose "Unsend" in the menu.

And that’s it. You’ve successfully removed the selected message from your Instagram conversation for good.

RELATED: How to Delete a Comment on Instagram

How to Unsend Instagram Messages on the Web

To delete messages from your desktop, launch your preferred web browser and open Instagram. Sign in to your account if you haven’t already.

In Instagram’s top-right corner, click the Message icon.

On the Message page, in the sidebar to the left, select a conversation and find the message you want to delete.

Hover your cursor over this message and click the three-dot menu.

Select the three dots to the left of the message.

In the menu that opens, choose “Unsend.”

Select "Unsend" in the menu.

You’ll see an “Unsend Message?” prompt. Here, confirm your choice by clicking “Unsend.”

Choose "Unsend" in the prompt.

That’s it! On a similar note, did you know you can “undo send” your Facebook Messenger messages?

RELATED: How to Delete Messages on Facebook Messenger