You can use this optional function to remove messages if you want to maintain greater privacy. If you turn it on, you can choose a time after which your sent messages will be deleted automatically. This can be within 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days of when the communication was sent. If you choose the Most Recent option in the settings, it will only control new messages.
As is customary, it will include previously sent or received communications. In the event of individual chat, any of the two people can enable or disable the option to delete messages after a set amount of time. In the case of group chat, every participant has the ability to turn it on or off. But, in this scenario, the admin can restrict the power to delete messages from the group settings to only the admin.
- The message will be removed if a user does not open WhatsApp within 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days. However, the notification shows a preview of the message until WhatsApp is accessed.
- A specific message is quoted when it is replied to. In that situation, if a deleted message is replied to, it may persist as a quoted message after a set amount of time.
- Similarly, if such a message is forwarded to another location that would be erased after a specific period of time, the message will not be deleted from there, but will instead stay.
- If a user makes a backup before deleting a message, the message will not be deleted. The message will be removed if the user later restores it from the backup. Only use this function with persons you know and trust. How to Enable the Feature in Your Account You can enable the option that deletes messages after a certain amount of time for all new chats. Go to WhatsApp Settings on your iPhone or Android device. Then, navigate to Account > Privacy > Default message timer and configure the time.